Devere 504 negative carrier

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by Doc W, Mar 8, 2010.

1. Doc W

Doc W Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I have an older brown and cream Devere 504. I have been doing workarounds with it for a few years because I didn't have the proper negative carrier. Well, I finally got the Master Negative Carrier and I am very disappointed. With the 4x5 and 6x7 inserts, it was not cheap (almost 600 bucks Canadian) and, in my opinion, it is a terrible design.

After putting the negative in the 4x5 insert in the carrier, I can't hold the carrier by the front because this causes it to bow and the neg falls out. Well, you pretty much have to hold it by the front to get it in the damn enlarger. Furthermore, holding the carrier on one side causes the other side to open up a little and if you are trying to blow some dust off, the negative falls out half the time. If I hold both sides of the carrier so the negative doesn't fall out, what am I supposed to use to get dust off the neg? I only have two hands (no rude suggestions :D).

I have been an amateur in the darkroom, on and off, for 40 years and I have never had a negative carrier that did not hold the negative securely in place when handling it. Is it just me or is this Master Negative Carrier the Dribble Glass of the darkroom world?

2. raizans

raizans Member

i'd also be interested to hear if other people have these problems. my de vere 504 didn't come with a neg carrier, either. i'm not sure how much they cost, but i wouldn't want to spend 600CAD on one if it's a PITA.

3. Mick Fagan

Mick Fagan Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    DeVere stuff has always been over the top in price, but their product was always over the top in quality.

It sounds to me as though you may have the inserts inserted 180ยบ out.

They have a chamfered edge which slots into a chamfered hole and is held by a spring loaded aluminium (I think) chamfered stop.

Mick.

4. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber