Different brands of chemicals

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Reticenti, Mar 25, 2007.

1. Reticenti

Reticenti Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I'm brand new to all things darkroom (I've just had one experience, and loved it), So my question is, what's the best brand of chemicals to use? I want to use Ilford VC paper, so should I stick with Ilford chemicals for best results?
    Also, can I mix brands for different things, for instance, could I use Kodak developer and Ilford fixer?
    And one more question, since the stop bath is basically just vinegar, (Acetic Acid), could I just go down to the store and buy some vinegar and add a base indicator to it?

thanks for the help

2. Photo Engineer

Photo Engineer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You can pretty much mix and match any brands you want.

The only thing that you should stick to is using film developers for film and print developers for prints.

PE

3. reub2000

reub2000 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Many people mix their own stop bath from white (distilled) vinegar. Indicator is not really something that you need. I usually use the stop bath one shot which means that it's always fresh. See this. You can also rinse your film using water.

4. bdial

bdial Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The only thing I'd add is that you may want to pick a brand that is easy for you to get and stick with that until you get some experience. There are a lot of discussions in here on various combinations of developers, films and papers. Sometimes the differences are quite subtle. If you do too much switching without learning the basics it could be difficult to find the combination that suites you best.

5. jstraw

jstraw Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format