DIY light-activated switch

Discussion in 'Camera Building, Repairs & Modification' started by couldabin, Oct 31, 2011.

1. couldabin

couldabin Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I am considering a project that involves setting up a 4x5 to take an (unattended) early morning photograph once the light reaches a certain level. This would be dawn, but pre-sunrise. I would appreciate any feedback/advice on the approach I am considering.

I have some experience building devices that use microcontrollers to monitor temperature, and so want to do the same with photoresistors. My thought was to create a diffuser (would half a white ping pong ball work?) that has a photoresistor placed under it to read the brighness. I would then do some tests on location -- wait for the desired light level, use my hand-held light meter to see what the exposure would be, and at the same time record the resistance value from my DIY setup. The idea is that the microprocessor would watch for the desired resistance, and when it reaches the threshold value take the photograph. Would a lens to focus the diffuser shell onto the photoresistor make it more accurate? Would it be necessary?

On a related front, any thoughts on devices to press the shutter release cable?

Thanks.

2. AgX

AgX Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    As a child I built such a switching device out of a Philips electronics teaching kit. Don't remember the circuit, but sure the kit did not contain microprocessors basck then...

Once there were solenoids with push-pin and male shutter threading. At least my gives quite a bang, so use a long extension cable release inbetween (in case you could even get the latter...)

What about activating a cable release by an electrical motor and an excenter-wheel?

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 31, 2011
  3. John Koehrer

John Koehrer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I doubt the need of a lens behind the diffuser, I don't believe any incident meter uses them.