DIY safelight

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by joe7, Jan 9, 2010.

1. joe7

joe7 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    i have a few questions,regarding the safelight.i’m still a beginner,and would like setup a darkroom for B&W printing.Right now I’m looking for a safelight,and if possible, I would like to DIY it.

1)i found this filter at Freestyle,

Premier 10x12 Red Filter
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/1012184-Premier-10x12-Red-Filter?cat_id=1603

Premier 5x7 Red Filter
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/57184-Premier-5x7-Red-Filter?cat_id=1603
    other than size,what is the difference between this two filter?it seems that both is having a different colour.

Can I just buy this filter and make my own safelight?is it still the same as the one that is sold,like here
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/191210-Premier-10x12-OC-Safelight?cat_id=1603

2)what size of the safe light that is suitable for me, 10x12 or just get the 5x7?
    right now,my temporary darkroom(my toilet actually) size is 6x9x6 ft.

3)can I just use the Fluorescent lamp,instead of the normal light bulb,because its produce less heat,and can be operated at a long hour..

4)i believe,this safelight is paper safe,but how about B&W film,is it also safe?

thanks in advance for any of your reply
    :smile:

2. glbeas

glbeas Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Either filter will do and yes you can build your own safelight if you want, it's been done often enough. And yes a flourescent will work, just be sure you get the level of illumination right. The lamp may be a bit bright compared to the 25 to 40 watt bulbs these are made for. in such case you should point the safelight at the ceiling to tone it down. This also has the advantage of making the light more uniform and will appear brighter than it really is. You should do the usual tests to assure the safelight doesn't fog the paper. Red is usually pretty good at not fogging.

3. wildbill

wildbill Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format