Do SLR's put you "on the radar"?

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by Arcturus, Oct 3, 2013.

1. Arcturus

Arcturus Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I noticed something unusual today. Someone gave me a very nice Nikon n90s + lenses for free so I took it out for a try around town. Now I usually shoot 6x6 folders or small 35mm rangefinders so most people don't even notice my camera. I'm usually as invisible as someone taking pictures with their cellphone. But once I started shooting the big Nikon I noticed that I was getting a lot of looks from other people taking pictures. It was making me uncomfortable with so many people checking out my camera, some people were even watching to see what I was taking pictures of with such a camera. I didn't know if they were judging me or just curious. It does look a lot like a modern DSLR and has a somewhat "professional" look to it I guess, I don't know if that had something to do with it. Never have I experienced this with my usual smaller, older cameras. Does anyone else get this with SLR's?

2. RattyMouse

RattyMouse Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Nope. I never get looks like that.

3. Nathan King

Nathan King Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm RF
    This happens to me every time I take out my medium format SLR gear. Everybody suddenly stares at the camera and where it's pointed as if they're expecting to see a world class image.

I think people are curious since that is something most people rarely or never see.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2

4. munz6869

munz6869 Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I reckon SLR's are the MOST invisible of any cameras I use - everyone has one and so no-one pays them any regard. Big wooden & brass cameras - that's a whole other story...

Marc!

5. Fixcinater

Fixcinater Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Did the N90s come with this lens? I can see that being an attention grabber...

[​IMG]
    Nikkor 300/2

6. Red Tractors