Do you like reprinting old negs?

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by thefizz, Sep 29, 2009.

1. thefizz

thefizz Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I'm curious to hear people's thoughts on printing negatives that they have made prints from before.

I am much more excited when printing new negatives and find it hard to motivate myself to revisit negs already printed. Even when its an order from someone to purchase a print, I find it more a chore if I don't have the particular print already made.

While I do accept that the print can be improved or done differently to how you made it in the past, and this has worked for me, I still don't get very excited by it.

Anyone else feel this way or do you love doing reprints?

Peter

2. arigram

arigram Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I love discovering forgotten gems in old negatives.
    I love reprinting old negatives as well.
    I love seeing work of mine with a different eye and a better technique.
    I am still learning after all.

3. AmandaTom

AmandaTom Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Definitely a chore for me. The only old negs I like printing are ones that I didn't print at the time for some reason (usually too much of a backlog).

4. arealitystudios

arealitystudios Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I love printing old negatives.

It's really interesting to me to see how my tastes in printing change over the years by comparing the same negative printed during different times of my life.

5. memorris

memorris Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I don't care for printing old negs. Usually have more new work than time to print and would rather explore those.

But on the occasions where I sell a print from an old neg. it is interesting to see how my eye and technique have changed.

6. thefizz

thefizz Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I think this is my problem also.

7. KWhitmore

KWhitmore Member

Shooter:
    35mm