Do you live in a "highly photographic" area?

Discussion in 'Ethics and Philosophy' started by tron_, Aug 7, 2013.

1. tron_

tron_ Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    A friend of mine and I talk quite a bit about how passionate we are about our hobbies. He's a really talented guitar player and I'm a really uhh....well I'm a photographer :tongue:. But I also have a huge passion for motorsports. You get the idea.

He has talked about moving to a new city so he could be a part of a larger pool of musicians in an effort to form a band since we live in a very "compartmentalized" artistic area (Detroit). There are definitely artists here but the true artists seem to stay to themselves unlike the many "poseurs" in the area. Yes being in a band is a lot different than being a photographer since photography is usually a one man show but the idea made me curious.

It makes me realize that for a city as large as we live in, I have NEVER seen anyone else shooting film. And I can probably count on one hand the number of times I've seen a digital shooter out taking photographs.

On the other hand when I went to Tokyo, film culture was enormous there and more people seemed aware of film still being around.

This makes me think, do you guys live in a place with lots of photographers? What do you say to them if your paths cross? Just a fun thread I guess, I wasn't sure where else to put it.

-Tron

2. hdeyong

hdeyong Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    I live in a village, (1,500 people), in the south-east corner of France.
    From what I've seen so far, the only other people taking pictures are tourists snapping away with their digitals.
    But, there must be at least one more of me, because our local store always has at least one copy, every month, of a serious photography magazine. I've thought about ways to find out who buys it, besides me.
    We regularly spend time in Nice, and the two camera stores there carry popular films.
    And yes, it's a really beautiful area.