Doomed?

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Antje, Nov 27, 2006.

1. Antje

Antje Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I sure am doomed - I bought this Rolleicord last week, shot a few rolls of film, bought some lab equipment and developed my first B/W rolls, and this weekend I suddenly found myself searching Ebay for a Hasselblad with back and lens... What am I doing here? I own a Canon 20D with all the lenses I could wish for that sees several hundred to thousands actuations each month. I shoot mostly macro and wildlife, and now I'm hankering after a system that would lend itself more to landscape, portraits and such. I saw this nice 501 at a camera store and couldn't keep my eyes off the big viewfinder... It even smelled nice. And then this beautiful 6x6 format...

Could someone please talk me out of it? I almost long for the days when I was a student and Hasselblads so expensive that I couldn't even dream of them. Now I could just go and buy one. I should have my husband hide my credit card for me.

And all of this just because I wanted to give this neglected little Rolleicord a nice new home. What have I done!

Sorry for the rant - I simply needed to talk about my new love. :wink:

Antje

2. arigram

arigram Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    You are doomed allright. Pretty soon you'll be using the Canon as a bookend and not being able to look at digital stuff anymore.

3. Magnus W

Magnus W Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yup, doomed.

:D hassy-owner -- MW

4. Steve Smith

Steve Smith Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    You have now set the pattern for the rest of your life. If you want to stop yourself making instant purchases, freeze your credit card inside a large block of ice. Next time you want to buy something you have the time it takes for the ice to freeze to think about your purchase!

Steve.