Dumb Question of the Day

Discussion in '35mm Cameras and Accessories' started by yeknom02, Jul 13, 2010.

1. yeknom02

yeknom02 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I was wondering why 35mm film has a tapered leader. Why not just cut it off straight across?
    :confused:
    (I feel ashamed asking this, since I'm an engineer.)

2. Poohblah

Poohblah Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    my best guess is that it's an attempt at saving a few inches of emulsion per roll.

3. Anscojohn

Anscojohn Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    That's the way Oscar Barnack wanted it.:tongue: BTW, the late model Practika cameras did not require a tapered leader.

4. Worker 11811

Worker 11811 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Sharp corners catch on sprockets, film gates and rollers.

Rounding the corners and tapering the ends of the leaders makes them easier to insert into their slots and run through the cameras, processors and/or projectors without the film getting hung up and being destroyed.

5. SteveR

SteveR Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    My Yashica Lynx has a slot sized for tapered film on the take-up spool, so when I bulk load I always have to cut a little notch in the leader so I can load it. That's probably a product of film having a taper though, rather than a reason for it...

6. brucemuir

brucemuir Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Yep, some cameras need the little tongue to load into the takeup spool. A lot of manual Nikons are like this.

7. j-dogg

j-dogg Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Both of mine are, Nikon FG and Nikkormat FT. 20 years apart they look almost identical inside.

8. Christopher Walrath

Christopher Walrath Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Indeed. If the film were straight-edged, the film that was not held into the slot would stand up from the wind on spool thus enlarging the diameter of the wind-on portion of the film which could lead to scratching and other in-camera defects.

9. Poisson Du Jour