E6 Blix Sources

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by sharpbokeh, Feb 18, 2011.

1. sharpbokeh

sharpbokeh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello all,

I have been developing my own E6 slides for about 5 years now. I usually use 1L kits, but recently came across a deal on large 15L jugs of Tetenal 1st & color developer. Now I'm looking for some blix to complement these but I'm having a problem finding it in similar quantity. I can only find it as part of a kit. Can anyone point me to a source where I can buy compatible blix separately, or where I can get the components to mix my own? Thanks !

2. Bob-D659

Bob-D659 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  3. tnabbott

tnabbott Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
  4. John Meyer

John Meyer Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format Pan
    Try doing a thread search with "Suggested replacement for Kodak 5l kit"
    it lists all the product numbers for E6..
    John

5. Photo Engineer

Photo Engineer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You will need:

Ferric Chloride or Ferric Nitrate. If the latter is used you will need Ammonium Chloride as well. You will need enough EDTA to make the Ferric EDTA complex and have a 10% excess of EDTA. You will need Sodium Sulfite. Or, just buy Ammonium Ferric EDTA solution, add a 10% excess of EDTA based on EDTA already there, and add Ammonium Chloride and Sodium Sulfite.

That make the bleach half.

You can use C-41 Fixer for the fix part. Mixing them both together will make a blix, but you can see that the ingredients will be weakened by their dilution of each other. That is why neither Kodak nor Fuji make a blix. It becomes too weak.

You will have to have a method to adjust the pH of the above to about 6.5 at 20 deg C.

Also, you will need either a pre-bleach or a Formalin Stabilizer to give proper image stability. This is no matter what kit or formula you use. Otherwise, your slides will begin to fade in about 10+ years.