eBay 360mm convertible lens without mention that the flange or threaded ring is missi

Discussion in 'Ultra Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by jp80874, Jun 11, 2008.

1. jp80874

jp80874 Subscriber

Shooter:
    ULarge Format
    Symmar Schneider-Kreuznach 1:5, 6/360mm 6742623 11x14!!
    Item number: 350069051371

Dear electricmonkie,

I am interested in buying this lens. Am I correct in understanding that it is missing the flange or threaded ring that holds it to a lensboard? See picture #4. I think the flange or threaded ring should go on the threads showing in picture #4.

Thank you,

John

Hello,

Thank you for your post. Please note that I am not an expert in the Professional Photography field. That being said, and provided that what knowledge and understanding I have is sufficient to your needs, based on the item and what I know of it, you are correct, the 'flange' is missing on this unit. What you see in the images is the exact item, as it really is, with no addition parts or accessories beyond the lens caps which are shown.

Sincerely,
    Vyncent

Electric Monkie

It must not be Vyncent's fault if he is not a expert.
    Just wanted to warn folks of a mistake I almost made.

John Powers

2. Dan Fromm

Dan Fromm Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    So, John, it is better to buy the lens without retaining ring at a good price or not to buy it without retaining ring at a good price? I mean, it takes a standard flange or ring and they're not that hard to find or expensive.

3. jp80874

jp80874 Subscriber

Shooter:
    ULarge Format
    Dan,

My objection was that the lens was described as complete and functional. Had I not been looking to see if there was a ring I would not have known it was missing. They answered me, but at this point they have not updated the auction for the rest of the world.