Egg shell pinhole camera.

Discussion in 'Pinhole Photography' started by nhemann, Apr 26, 2011.

1. nhemann

nhemann Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    This is not my work, but I saw it on the Make site (via Lomo) and thought I would pass it along to the rest of us...Pretty cool.

http://www.lomography.com/magazine/...egg-my-journey-to-build-an-egg-pinhole-camera

I'm not an expert on the methods, but for those of you that are - how cool would it be to reverse process or POP these little guys and end up with photographic Faberge eggs?

My list of skills to aquire keeps getting longer. :smile:

2. sokrasins

sokrasins Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    This is so cool, I wish I had thought of it myself!

3. bblhed

bblhed Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I wonder how large of a negative you would have to photograph with it to get a positive photo in the egg?

4. Jeff Kubach

Jeff Kubach Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I don't do pinhole, but that is great!

Jeff

5. ntenny

ntenny Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It is a great idea. I'm having a hard time thinking of a reasonable direct-positive process that would work, though; the easiest thing might be to "solarise" (Sabat(t)ier effect) the egg during development, which sometimes produces a fairly normal-looking positive image (and sometimes extremely weird stuff instead). I like the fact that the curvature of the eggshell compensates for the curved field.

But why, O why, couldn't the author have photographed a chicken??

-NT

6. mhcfires

mhcfires Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Too bad ostrich eggs are so expensive. :sad:

7. sokrasins

sokrasins Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Oh, I like this! The thicker shell would make the egg camera a bit more resistant to the perils of construction too!

Perhaps emu eggs are cheaper? I don't know, I've never bought either :tongue:

8. Jim Jones

Jim Jones Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format