Eh, I'm bored...

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by drumminor2nd, May 6, 2011.

1. drumminor2nd

drumminor2nd Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    After almost 2 years of lurking with an account, and another 5 or so without, I figure I might as well introduce myself.

Hi!

My name is Bob. I'm a 25-year-old assistant news editor for a tiny daily newspaper in upstate NY. Many moons ago, I studied photography in college, but I haven't had the space for a darkroom since.

I got bored tonight, and after a quick trip to Walgreens for some cheap film, I went out and shot a roll for the first time in years. God, I missed this :smile:.

I'll be looking for some info on building my new darkroom (plenty of space in my new house), as well as some alternatives to my old Tri-X (I priced a 100ft roll at 75 freaking dollars at B&H... last time I bought it was $45 or so... damn) and maybe to get rid of some of my lesser-used stuff for something new and nice.

Thanks for reading and looking,
    --Bob

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2011
  2. papagene

papagene Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi Bob!!! Welcome to APUG from western Massachusetts. :D

3. winger

winger Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome from western PA (and I grew up in a small town in upstate NY).

4. M.A.Longmore

M.A.Longmore Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome Home Bob.

I Love Upstate New York !

Ron

5. michaelbsc

michaelbsc Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome home.

6. 2F/2F

2F/2F Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome.

Try Arista Premium 400 from Freestyle as a cheaper alternative. It is relabeled Tri-X. At a bit over $2 per roll, you can skip the bulk loading and still be well ahead. And if you do still want to bulk load, it is available in 100 foot rolls for about $45. This is after a price increase, too. It was about $30 a roll a few months ago.

7. Sweettea

Sweettea Member

Shooter: