EL-Nikor Enlarger lens--Difference between

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by RichardH, Aug 4, 2012.

1. RichardH

RichardH Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have 4 EL-Nikor enlarging lenses that I have a question about. All are 50mm but 2 are 2.8 and the rest are f4. Would either be any better than the other without making a bunch of test. The 2.8 has a lot of glass, the f4's small amount of glass. I guess my question is, would the 2.8 be the better since it has a large amount of glass???
    I don't have any knowledge of what makes one better than the other.

Any ideas on this?

Richard

2. Stephen Prunier

Stephen Prunier Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    By no means am I an expert on this as I'm fairly new to the darkroom myself. Knowing that, I would think that the 2.8 would help you to make focusing easier. Being a faster lens it will allow more light when set at 2.8. After you finish focusing, close down the lens a couple of stops. At that point I don't think one will differ from the other because 5.6/8 will be the same on either lens.

3. tkamiya

tkamiya Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    On EL-Nikkors, 50mm f/2.8 is a 6 element lens where as f/4 is a 4 element lens.

f/2.8 version is better corrected for edge-to-edge sharpness and is considered a better lens. There's a debate on APUG how much difference there actually are between those two.

I only use the f/2.8 kind so I can't tell you personally.

4. RichardH

RichardH Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I didn't think there would be that much difference when stopped down but no harm in asking. I think I should worry more about negative buckling than what lens I am using.

Thanks for the replies

Richard

5. outwest

outwest Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format