Embarrassing confession: I have never used a grey card. Please don't laugh.

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by Holly, Aug 28, 2011.

1. Holly

Holly Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi guys
    I need to get a grey card in my life somehow - I'm not a novice, I just never got around to buying one and using it - because I want to move into LF and scanning more and it will be a nightmare trying to digitally print from negs without some kind of white balance control going on.

What's the best A. way to use a grey card for the purpose of shooting and scanning, then digitally outputting, and B. grey card to get?

I'm so ashamed not to have more knowledge on this, I've only ever understood the use of grey cards in theory and not ever actually put one to use in my work.
    Will it change my life ?
    Do I need one ?
    I am presuming Yes!

cheers

2. Sirius Glass

Sirius Glass Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have never used a gray card in over 50 years of photography. I guess that I have another 50 years to learn, if I need to.

3. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Holly

You don't need anything fancy, I use my hand held light meter and my hand. Gives me a skin tone, black, white, and grey.

Makes life easy for me with the color meter in the darkroom, makes life easy for my lab.

Kodak cards are available and work just fine.

If you want something fancier you might ask at a site that does digital.

4. Christopher Walrath

Christopher Walrath Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I only have ever used a grey card to help seeing the subject in terms of grey shades. Whatever EV is indicated metering the grey card will give the same shade of grey in any area of the subject with a similar reading. But seldom have I even done that. Don't feel the need to use a grey card. Just work at exposure. And if a grey card fits your scheme then go for it.

5. bdial

bdial Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format