Enlarger light leaks

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by Krzys, Jun 9, 2009.

1. Krzys

Krzys Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I am new to the darkroom aspect of photography and after my first session of printing last night it is obvious that my Krokus 3 enlarger leaks a lot of light, painting the ceiling and walls like a disco ball from the circular vents at the top. This obviously fogs my prints horribly and I remedied this by covering the head with my dark bag for shot periods of time. I still however get leaks from the cracks in between the carriers and the enlarger. I hear that this is a common problem but information is somewhat vague. Should I get some kind of lightproof tape or foam and seal up all of the cracks? Will this cause it to overheat or is it safe?

Excuse my lack of knowledge as I have not lurked here for any considerable amount of time. I'm happy to provide more details on the enlarger and room setup.

Thanks.

2. Neal

Neal Subscriber

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Dear Krzys,

Personally, I wouldn't be blocking the cooling vents. Instead, paint your ceiling and nearby wall area a flat black. If painting is an issue, build a temporary tent using black cloth. I solved a similar problem by hanging flocked roll mulch from the local garden center.

Neal Wydra

3. MurrayMinchin

MurrayMinchin Membership Council

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Try putting a lens cap on the enlarger lens, then with the safelight off, turn the enlarger on. After putting black tape on all the obvious holes, put a mirror where the paper normally goes and tape over all the holes around the enlargers lens board. Once you think your done, sit in the dark with all the lights turned off for about five minutes, turn on the enlarger again with the lens covered, and plug up the last of the holes you didn't notice before.

It's amazing how much light an enlarger pukes out!

Murray

4. RobertV

RobertV Restricted Access

Shooter:
    Multi Format