Ensign "Popular Reflex" Repair

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by southman81, Dec 7, 2009.

1. southman81

southman81 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hello everyone.
    A few months ago I bought this fabulous "ENSIGN Popular Reflex" (1920?):confused:
    It is in excellent cosmetic shape, but inside it has some problems.
    A curtain is missing, but in general appears to have a future.
    The rollers have tension if I roll up.
    But the problem is I can not deduct how the curtains sewn each other whit the cloth tape, and how long the tape should be…
    I'm not a camera repairman, I'm just an amateur with a nice camera that I would like to work ... I had success repairing a “Reflex Korelle”, and I thought, why not with the old ensign. (Should be easier, but in the korelle there was no missing parts)
    So any help is welcome, drawings, diagrams, sketches, anything!
    Best Regards.
    Luciano from Argentina.

PD: I Upload some images to those who wants to help :smile:

Attached Files:

• 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      58.5 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      64 KB
      Views:
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      63.6 KB
      Views:
  2. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome to APUG

Somewhere I've posted a link to repairing shutters like this. My laptop died 2 weeks ago and I'm not straight yet but I have saved not only the links but the pages as well (from a partial PDF - not savable/downloadable).

It's relatively easy to make a new curtain there's patterns in the book, not sure if it covers the Houghton sgutters, it should.

These shutters work in two ways:

1. A single curtain made up of a number of slits, you wind the right bit into position. Graflex's etc

2. A pair of curtains so more complex. Moving seperately like modern cloth SLR shutters.