Fading to black exposures – Please help.

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by aaronmacdonald, Mar 8, 2010.

1. aaronmacdonald

aaronmacdonald Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I've been shooting with an Olympus OM-1 for a couple months now. I love the camera to death, but it has one problem. Occasionally, and I think only when shooting outdoors, only the left half a frame will be exposed and will fade to black on the right.

Here is a photo to demonstrate what's going on:

[​IMG]

If anyone has any ideas about why this is happening, please let me know. I wouldn't want this to stop me from using this camera.

- Aaron

2. ic-racer

ic-racer Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Odd...is there like a piece of torn film under the mirror or something?

3. Photo Engineer

Photo Engineer Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If the shutter moves horizontally, then it is a shutter problem.

PE

4. Bruce Osgood

Bruce Osgood Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Firstly, welcome to APUG.

As far as your problem, could it be a camera strap dangling or a gloved finger?

5. kraker

kraker Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    That's also my first thought. I've seen similar frames, indeed only occassionally (and vertically, because the shutter on my EOS 650 moves vertically) exactly due to that problem.

"Only when shooting outdoors" is another hint in that direction; I would translate that to "only for faster shutter speeds".

Edit: Googling reveals that the OM-1 has a horizontal shutter indeed. Yet another indication that the shutter is the culprit.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2010
  6. Anscojohn

Anscojohn Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Only for faster shutter speeds and only in cold weather?

7. njkphoto

njkphoto Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format