Fastest lens?

Discussion in 'Rangefinder Forum' started by Terence, Sep 18, 2008.

1. Terence

Terence Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  2. Pinholemaster

Pinholemaster Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Yawn.

Canon doesn't make their lens anymore, I believe, so presently this would be the fast lens when it is released.

A nice $10K investment compared to Wall Street right now, but I'd hate to put it on that piece of crap M8 Leica. A pit bull with lipstick is better than the M8.

3. jamie young

jamie young Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It's noted to be the worlds fastest "aspherical" lense, as opposed to the fastest lense.

4. Terence

Terence Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Ah, semantics. I don't even shoot Leica-style rangefinders or even much 35mm anymore, but found the claim interesting.

As an engineer, the Leica certainly has a mechanical appeal to me, but also as an engineer, I can be a bit parsimonious with my treasure.

Nice to see they're actually still designing new products though.

5. Jim Noel

Jim Noel Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    The article does acknowledge the Canon f 0.95 as the first of this speed.

6. Terence

Terence Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Not sure how I missed that. I even read the article twice before posting . . .

Need . . . more . . . caffeine . . .

7. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format
    That's by APUG Subscriber "psvensson."

8. Don12x20

Don12x20 Member

Shooter:
    ULarge Format
    Frankly this lens is priced outside the means of most casual photographers as well as being outside the business justification of most small photographic business owners (who can buy an entire case of professional canon L-lenses for the cost of just this one and earn a lot more on ROI), the Leica Corporation feels they have an achievable business model in setting the price this high. Do they?