Field 4X5 recommendations

Discussion in 'Large Format Cameras and Accessories' started by Robert Ivy, Jul 24, 2006.

1. Robert Ivy

Robert Ivy Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi, I'm fairly new to the APUG and wanted to get some feedback on what is considered a decent 4x5 field camera. Most of my work to date has been with a Hasselblad and all is nature/landscape and flowers. I'd like to find something less than $1000. Most of my work with MF is with Velvia and Pan-X. Thanx for your time.
    Bob

2. raucousimages

raucousimages Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I love my Toyo 45AII but I am teaching my wife to shoot 4X5 and I realy like her Wista. I see them on ebay as low as $650.00 in good shape.

3. Peter Schrager

Peter Schrager Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    4x5

I'll second the wista. I've owned one for over 20 years (zone VI version) and all it ever needed was a new bellows. Great lightweght camera. Only 12 inches of bellows; but hey...very well made. Will last a lifetime. I can carry it and 3 lenses with holders in a zone vi bag and it weighs nothing. Great for traveling on planes too.
    Best, Peter

4. haziz

haziz Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    A new Shen-Hao, used Wista or new or used Tachihara are well within budget. A used Zone VI camera is usually also well under $1000. I also got my Toyo AII (a metal field camera which I like for it's smoothness) for under $1000. Linhof Technika 4 is also often under $1000 or close.

Would suggest calling Jim at Midwest photo and see what he has in stock. He will give you solid advice and his pricing is very competitive. You should be able to get a camera and possibly a lens (used) for your proposed budget.

Sincerely,

Hany.

5. Changeling1

Changeling1 Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format