Field camera for portraiture

Discussion in 'Darkroom Equipment' started by fleetwoodjazz, Jul 4, 2008.

1. fleetwoodjazz

fleetwoodjazz Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi,

I am completely new to the Large Format things so I need help :smile:. I am getting into portraiture seriously so at first I thought about a 4-5 monorail but considering my travel schedule, a monorail is not very practical.

So I am looking for a field camera to reduce my carrying weight. However, I heard that field cameras do not have the same extensive movements as monorails which are extremely important for controlling DOF in portraiture. I'm kind of confused since based on forum discussions, it seems that only some products photography and architecture require such movements. I wonder if the Shen Hao TZ45 IIa is sufficient for fashion portraiture.

I am also getting interested in Fuji instant pack films FP100B and FP100C but this instant film topic confuses me....I reckon I need Polaroid 550 or Fuji Pa 45 holder? Do they fit Shen Hao TZ45IIa? These holders are also extremely hard to find:sad:

Please help!
    Thanks

2. Pinholemaster

Pinholemaster Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Extensive movements are usually needed for architecture, not portraiture.

A basic Speed or Crown Graphic will do as a starter kit. Remember to keep it simple, especially when starting out.

There are monorail cameras that break down into very small packages for travel.

All the standard instant film holders fit modern field cameras.

We can not say if a Shen Hao will work for your vision. You'll have to try one out to see if it works with the way you see.

3. raucousimages

raucousimages Member

Shooter:
    Large Format