Film speed rating

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by michael_r, Dec 18, 2013.

1. michael_r

michael_r Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    For some of the less experienced out there (or experienced - doesn't matter), I thought I'd throw out this diagram I had done for myself back when I started learning about this stuff.

2 hypothetical films given identical exposure to a calibrated step tablet and processed identically.

Which is "faster", or which would you give a higher EI, etc.

Enjoy

Attached Files:

2. pentaxpete

pentaxpete Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I think the RED one ?

3. pdeeh

pdeeh Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've read a lot this year about films and slopes and chemistry and whatnot, and I still know almost as little as when I started. But I'll have a go.

Am I right in thinking that as the two curves intersect at 0.1 density (which I think = base fog?) then anything to the LHS can be disregarded, and we have to look at the shape/slope of the curves to the RHS of that point?

In which case the blue line appears to gain density at a greater rate with exposure, which makes me think it denotes the "faster" film.

Now I shall be happy to wait and be shot down in flames ... well, I hope not internet-style flames ...

EDIT hmm have I forgotten to take inertia into account? damn

4. markbarendt

markbarendt Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Looks to me like the red one would gather the most total shadow detail based on the exposure. But my guess is that because of the slope they might be both ISO rated the same.

5. baachitraka

baachitraka Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Blue: Happy mid-tones.

6. michael_r

michael_r Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format