First camera

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by carmenloofah, Nov 6, 2009.

1. carmenloofah

carmenloofah Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Please can you offer your valued opinions as to which medium format camera I should buy, it's my first one. I am an amateur, post grad student and the work I make needs to reach professional standard. I want to buy one with a Polaroid Back. I also need your advice on what lens to look for. Budget is a huge issue as very limited and I will buy on Ebay. Many thanks

2. Christopher Walrath

Christopher Walrath Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If budget is a huge issue then forgo the Polaroid back. Go for a Mamiya C220 or C330 TLR with, well, the 80-100mm range would be a normal lens. If you have to have the Polaroid back then the Mamiya RB67's are going for next to nothing. I have one with two 120 backs, WLF and a 90 that I might be willing to part with.

3. Q.G.

Q.G. Inactive

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    If you want a camera that is reasonably versatile, don't get a TLR (not even the 330), but an SLR with changeable lenses, backs and viewfinders.

4. bill spears

bill spears Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    RB67's and lenses are a superb buy at the moment. Top quality for very little money.

5. Barry06GT

Barry06GT Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format

You write "the work I make needs to reach professional standard".

That has nothing to do with the camera format you select. Nor does it have anything to do with film versus digital.

Tiger Woods can beat you at golf using a shovel. Don't equate camera selection with professional results. A shaky, poorly composed large format landscape is worse than a sharp well composed camera phone shot.

If medium format is the road you want to take, all of the brands are good. Bronica, Mamiya, Hassy, Rollei, Pentax, even my auto everything Fuji, were all aimed at working pro's, and will all render, in the right hands, great pictures.