First Darkroom Prints!

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by JacobT, Mar 5, 2009.

1. JacobT

JacobT Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hello everyone, this is my first time posting (I think, I can't remember posting before!) and first time printing! Just wanted to share my first photographs with you. It was such an exciting process, if it weren't for my busy studies at the moment I'd be right back in my local darkroom but as it is I'll have to wait till next thursday :sad:.

Anyway, without further ado, here they are in order of creation! (Sorry about the subject matter, I'm an architecture student)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The scans really don't do the prints justice, coming from digital I really was surprised how beautifully they came out. Anyway I think the last one's my favorite, but feel free to pick your own!

All the best. Jacob

(P.S I hope I've posted the images right.)

2. BetterSense

BetterSense Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    so what kind of film/developer/camera is it?

3. JBrunner

JBrunner Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    They show great promise, stunning really, for a first effort. Much better than my first prints. Congrats! Welcome to APUG.

4. JacobT

JacobT Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Thanks! Yeah I was really pleased with them but it wasn't all me,this is my second week at a black and White photography class. Last week was film processing and contact printing. Anyway I think I got a huge head start just through regularly reading these forums and watching your videos on YouTube!

As for the technical side, they were all shot on FP4 with an old pentax mg and 24mm 2.8 lens, in fact it's the very first camera my dad used to learn photography decades ago. Developed with ilford chemicals (ilfosol 3 for the film) on kentmere rc 5x7 paper.

Can't wait to wade through the backlog of negatives I've been shooting for the last few years and see what else I come up with!

Jacob

5. tiberiustibz

tiberiustibz Member

Shooter: