Foma paper darkens as it dries problem

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by pbails, Jul 4, 2010.

1. pbails

pbails Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi
    I am a beginner with b & w printing and have the following problem, (if it is in fact a problem). I am using FOMA paper (Fomaspeed Variant RC glossy). I am trying to ascertain the exact exposure time to achieve a solid black in the paper. I am doing this by doing contact prints of clear film at different times. I notice that as the paper dries the faint greys on the paper seem to become more black to the point where they disappear and the whole paper simply looks solid black. E.g. if I do a contact print of clear film for 13 seconds at f11 I can see (faintly) the outline of the film while the paper is wet but once it dries the whole sheet looks uniformly black, (to my novice eye).

Any advice about this would be much appreciated.

peter

2. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi Peter, welcome to APUG.

This is called dry down, you need to allow for i when printing, it's not normally that much with RC papers. Your aiming for that point where it dries to the maximum black so that sounds OK.

Ian

3. Adrian Twiss

Adrian Twiss Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You say you are using clear bits of film. Are you developing the film rather than just fixing it to clear it? You need to develop it as well to take account of the slight chemical fog that occurs with all development processes.

4. jp498

jp498 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Fomapan 311 does have a little of this, maybe less than 5% like others have posted. Something is wrong with your process if things go from light grey to black though.