Fuji pro 400 H

Discussion in 'Color: Film, Paper, and Chemistry' started by benjiboy, Apr 16, 2010.

1. benjiboy

benjiboy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I just collected a roll of Fuji 400 H from the lab, and looking at the prints I can't believe the quality of this film, I've been using Fuji neg films for more than twenty years I rarely use fast film,and try to use the slowest film I can, I normally shoot pro160S or Reala, but I had some portraits to shoot by window light, and my local friendly pro dealer gave me a sample roll to try, and I'm astounded at the colour quality and lack of grain of this film, and will certainly keep a few rolls in stock in future, and would highly recommend it.

2. Thomas Bertilsson

Thomas Bertilsson Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I was similarly astounded by Kodak's Portra 400VC. Incredibly fine grain for ISO 400 film.

I think it's fair to say that film technology has come a long way.

3. benjiboy

benjiboy Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm going to try some Portra 400 VC Thomas, I've been shooting colour film for more than fifty years and IMHO the biggest real advances in film photography hasn't been in the hardware, but in the materials, both Kodak and Fuji Films are superb.

4. Tim Gray

Tim Gray Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I love the Portra films. Great stuff. I'm sure 400H is great too.

5. Leighgion

Leighgion Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Try going all the way and sampling Portra 800 or some remaining stock of the sadly discontinued Fuji 800z. Both are incredible for 800 speed color.

6. Thomas Bertilsson

Thomas Bertilsson Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi Ben,
    You've been shooting color film longer than I've been alive. :smile: But I've seen a fair amount of color prints from ye olden days, and the difference in color, contrast, detail, and grain is startling between now and then.