GAS attack: I bought a Mamiya 7ii ... now having second thoughts!

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by bobby novatron, Jul 5, 2010.

1. bobby novatron

bobby novatron Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I'm not really sure why I'm posting this thread, but I guess it's more a cry for re-assurance that I'm not a total idiot.

My background: avid amateur / enthusiast, I have been shooting dSLR's for several years, but recently got back into film. I have been slowly amassing a tidy collection of wonderful film cameras (35mm and medium format).

On an online forum (not APUG) this past weekend, I innocently scanned the classifieds and came across a Mamiya 7ii & 80mm lens for a very reasonable price. Instantly couldn't help myself, and thoughts raced through my mind: the Legendary Mamiya lens quality! The massive 6x7 negatives! Oh the possibilities!

GAS attack clouded my better judgment, and a few minutes later I had PayPal'ed a small fortune to a total stranger for a camera I had never seen.

Someone please re-assure me! This wasn't a bad move, was it?

2. TheSohnly

TheSohnly Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    the 7ii is freaking sweet and a worthy GAS purchase.
    If you don't want it, i'll trade you for it and use the crap out of it.

3. rpsawin

rpsawin Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    You have just bought into one of the finest medium format systems available. The lenses are among the best. Really empress yourself by shooting some chromes and then view them on a light table. You will be wowed.

Best regards,

Bob

4. bobby novatron

bobby novatron Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Thanks, TheSognly ... that's the kind of hand-holding I'm looking for. In all truth, I'm really looking forward to trying this beast out.

5. bobby novatron

bobby novatron Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Good advice, rpsawin -- I have some Velvia in the fridge that's whispering to me at the moment...

6. rpsawin

rpsawin Member

Shooter: