gettin' tired of carrying around 100lbs of camera gear.

Discussion in 'Rangefinder Forum' started by jordanstarr, Jul 5, 2007.

1. jordanstarr

jordanstarr Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    as the title suggests i have a problem being able to condense my gear when i hit the field. anytime i go somewhere long distance to take photos i end up packing about 9 lenses, 2 bodies, 4 backs and other medium format and 35mm slr equipment. it doesn't help that i'm shooting with contax and hasselblad all metal cameras with big, heavy fast lenses. and everytime i say "i'm just going to take a few lenses and one format" i end up getting slightly annoyed that i'm missing certain shots because i didn't bring everything.

now, i've never used rangefinders before. i don't know many photographers in general that i can borrow their rangefinders and don't have a ton of money to test all the different kinds out there. i've been on countless sites and forums and galleries looking at examples of photos from some of these gems and of course the ones i'm most pleased with come out to thousands of dollars (such as leica, voigtlander, mamiya 6, etc).

now my budget for a rangefinder with a 35 and 50mm lens would be something like $500 and even another wider lens. any suggestions?
    i'd also be interested in a 6x6 or 6x9 rangefinder. any suggestions with that?

i shoot almost exclusively black and white and the smallest prints i make is 8x10. i shoot a lot of urban stuff in less-than-desirable lighting conditions most of the time.

thanks in advance for the advice.

2. Andy K

Andy K Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Take a look at the Cosina Voigtlander Bessa R series of cameras (R, R2, R2a, R2m, R3a, R3m) and lenses. You are bound to find a body/lens combination to suit your need.
    I use an R3M with Nokton 40/1.4, 50/2 and 90/3.5 lenses.

Last edited by a moderator: Jul 5, 2007
  3. David H. Bebbington

David H. Bebbington Inactive

Shooter:
    Medium Format