getting started with medium format

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by phthenry, Nov 9, 2008.

1. phthenry

phthenry Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    I needed some direction in getting started with medium format, or advice if I should even get a medium format camera.

My main reason for wanting a medium format camera is to get better resolution photos. I have used a 35 mm camera for over 2 decades. I am an amateur who likes to take pictures of people, mostly my family and friends.

I also have a very limited budget. I could spend 300 dollars to get started, though I would still have to save up to spend even this. I would be satisfied with starting with an outfit that had just a normal (the equivalent of a 50 mm (80 mm?) lens). I assume I could use the flash equipment I already own, manual flashes such as the Sunpak 383, with a medium format camera.

Ideally, the medium format camera would have a high sync speed. Right now, my Minolta only has a sync speed of 1/60 of a second, which limits my ability to use a flash outdoors. I have thought of getting a Nikon FM2, but then I wondered if instead I should save my money for a medium format camera. Ever since I owned my first camera way back even before there was such a thing as a digital camera, I have wanted a medium format camera, but never considered buying one because of the price. But now that one can get them fairly cheap on ebay, I have reconsidered.

2. maezabeth

maezabeth Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi phthenry,

One of the main reasons I like medium format is because you can make larger prints without having a grainy image.
    maezabeth

3. michael9793

michael9793 Subscriber

Shooter:
    ULarge Format