getting up to speed with metering

Discussion in 'Exposure Discussion' started by rince, Jul 28, 2011.

1. rince

rince Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi,
    I am still fairly new to film photography and especially to metering anything else than flash exposures in a studio. I find myself struggling a lot with the meter in my camera and therefore would like to use my Sekonic L-358. Again, I have not much clue about what I am doing...yet... therefore I am looking for some books that help me get a better understanding of metering ambient light. So if you have a favorite book about metering you would like to share, I would be very grateful!

Thx in advance
    Dennis

2. CGW

CGW Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Visit the Sekonic site and click on "Classroom."

3. David Brown

David Brown Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I truly appreciate your asking for a book recommendation. In this case, however, I don't have a specific recommendation other than what might be found in a basic photography text. However, Google is your friend: (try: "light meter technique")

http://www.sekonic.com/Classroom/MeteringTechniques/IncidentvsReflected.aspx

http://www.kodak.com/cluster/global/en/consumer/products/techInfo/af9/index.shtml

http://www.ephotozine.com/article/guide-to-using-a-hand-held-light-meter-4748

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tutorials/meters.shtml

et al ...

4. Sirius Glass

Sirius Glass Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The most common problem that I have seen people make with light meters [I worked in camera stores for a few years], is that people would meter the sky or too much of the sky. That will make the photographs under exposed, and so they would lower the ISO [ASA, DIN] to compensate. But that type of compensation just leads to less accurate exposures in general. Aim the light meter down to avoid taking a light reading of the sky instead of taking a light reading of the scene.

Steve

5. rince

rince Subscriber

Shooter: