Good morning from an old-style lover

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by giacomo.fiani, Sep 3, 2011.

1. giacomo.fiani

giacomo.fiani Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello everybody,
    just want to introduce myself to the community: I'm a student from Italy who's been shooting film for almost 2 years and been reading this forum looking for advices for a while before I decided to join.
    So here I am, ready to learn more and more about the analog photography world and to share knowledge.
    I use 35mm and medium format, and have my own darkroom to develop film (b&w) and print pictures. What I like the best is when, looking at a print, I can say "wow, this looks like a picture from the past century!"

I'd like to start knowing you with a question: where do you think is the fashion in old-looking things?

2. M.A.Longmore

M.A.Longmore Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome Home Giacomo !

Ron

3. Dave Wooten

Dave Wooten Subscriber

Shooter:
    ULarge Format
    Welcome from Nevada. To answer your question, the qualities inherent in each and every media form, oil, water color , sculpture, wet plate, carbon, silver (analog processes), etc. do not become obsolete but become and remain current and viable forms of expression, when mastered and given an individual voice..it is the the journey that is the struggle and the joy. As artists, do we really have something to say, the media with which we choose to speak is an individual choice and always relevant and current...if there is communication and emotion.

4. giacomo.fiani

giacomo.fiani Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I share your point of view Dave, and would add: in the past thing were less simple, so to obtain some decent results you had to had skills. Analog photographers are skilled people who get bored if the have everything ready. Putting yourself to the test (and failing) leads you to be keen on analog photography, and develops your creativity.