Good quality studio flash?

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Dave Dawson, Mar 21, 2009.

1. Dave Dawson

Dave Dawson Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi, I am about to spend some well earned pennies:surprised: on some second hand studio flash units but am wondering what you guys reckon is best value for money ?

The options seem to be Elinchrom, Bowens, Broncolor etc.

Any advice appreciated Cheers Dave

ps...The flash will be used for fairly small still life shots using 5x4

2. archphoto

archphoto Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I have a Bowens 3KA generator and 3 heads. Works great, is dependable.
    The generator is a-symentrical so I have plenty of options in power-settings.

Broncolor has a verry good reputation, but the prices are higher than the Bowens.

Elinchrome I have no experience with, so no comments.

Peter

3. Pinholemaster

Pinholemaster Member

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
  4. tequilabong

tequilabong Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    best bang for the buck, White Lightning. Might not be as sexy as dyna, bowens, etc......but they work, and the resale values are great. And some of the best customer service people in the industry.....

5. epatsellis

epatsellis Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Oh I don't know about best bang for the buck, I bought 4 broncolor packs (3-304, 1-404), 8 heads (including 1 bitube head), reflectors, snoots, barn doors and such for less than $1000.00 Granted these are the older blue (Universal Lampholder) style heads, but they are the ones that built Broncolors reputation in regards to consistent light temp, output, etc. Other than needing 12mm stand adapters, I can't complain about anything, especially for the money.

6. resummerfield

resummerfield Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I think the best value in used equipment is Speedotron Black line, followed closely by Dynalite.

If you are buying new, I hear the Alien Bees are a great value, or their big siblings, White Lightning.

7. MikeSeb