Greetings from a legally blind photographer in NE PA.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by legally blind, Mar 28, 2012.

1. legally blind

legally blind Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hello, my name is Michael and I am legally blind. That means that my eyesight is worse than 20/200 corrected.

I lost my a majority of my eyesight a few years ago due to diabetic complications, I am a type I diabetic.

Before loosing my eyesight, I had a strong interest in photography, and after loosing my eyesight I learned to use photography as a way to see the world around me.

Over the last semester at college -- I am majoring in Psychology, I have been taking a 35mm black and white film photography class and I have been able to use what I learned in the past to enable me to complete the entire photographic process without assistance.

While I currently do not have one area in which I specialize, a large portion of my current work is within the realm of still life.

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2012
  2. Jeff Kubach

Jeff Kubach Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello and a warm welcome to APUG.

Jeff

3. Zewrak

Zewrak Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hello and welcome.
    I saw a short documentary about a legally blind photographer that painted with light. I was intruiged by his way to see things.

I wonder, what makes you use photography as your media? I am always impressed by people that "use" their handicap to create stuff and I am curious what makes these guys to chose the, what seem to be, hardest way to express themselves.

4. legally blind

legally blind Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Jeff and Zewrak, thank you for the welcome.
    In my case, I was interesting in photography quite a few years before loosing my eyesight. I simply became much more serious about photography after losing my eyesight.