Greetings from Finland

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by Erkki, Jan 10, 2005.

1. Erkki

Erkki Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello everyone!

I am Erkki from Finland, a 53 year old male. As an amateur I have used a mechanical Olympus OM3 for several years with 28 mm, 50 mm and 100 mm objectives. I just bought an almost unused Rolleiflex T model 1962. There is a Zeiss Ikon Tessar 1:3,5 f=75 mm objective in it.

In my equipped darkroom I have a Durst Laborator 1200, with Ilford B&W Multigrade and a new RH Design Analyser 500. I use objectives from Nikon and Rodenstock. Most often I use Bergger`s FB papers and also Ilford´s and Kodak´s RC.

Last year I printed 200 photos memory exhibition of my fathers’ shots taken during the 1950s. The photos described ordinary people´s life in the northern part of Finland just after the II World War. I followed the traditional b&w photography techniques as fully as possible.

Some of my father’s, Matti A. Asikainen photos can be seen at my homepage. At the end of the introduction there is a link to the techniques of how my father took the photos and developed his films. The technique of how I printed the photos for the exhibition is also explained there in detail. This is unfortunately only available in the Finnish language.

In the links there is e.g. an interesting article of Mr. Woodworth: Inside a Roll of Film, Exposure Chemistry, Developing Film: Black & White, Making the Prints: Black & White.

I still work on these historical photos trying to get other themes presented in new exhibitions.

I also bought JOBO CPE2 Prosessor to develop my own films. I found your web page while searching JOBO users´ experiences. It’s nice to follow the chatroom discussion and learn new things all the time.

2. David A. Goldfarb

David A. Goldfarb Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Shooter:
    Large Format