Greetings from the Midwest

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by phish537, Jan 24, 2009.

1. phish537

phish537 Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Greetings everyone. I'm Ted. I live in Indiana. I'm 24.

First off, suffice it to say that I'm a true beginner when it comes to photography. I think it's an absolutely beautiful form of art and like all other forms, I didn't get the gene. With school being such a joy and all [sarcasm], I don't have a lot of time to devote to anything, but I love being outdoors, I absolutely love to travel, and so I think photography would be a wonderful fit for me.

I purchased a Sony alpha-100 DSLR last year and have used it on and off. Yesterday, on whim, I made my first analog purchase. I bought a Minolta x-370 with four lenses that appear to be in decent shape. I need to make a run into town and purchase a new battery and some film, but I'm excited to start experimenting.

Maybe when I have some free time I'll take a class. I'm curious to learn how others became proficient [e.g., an influential person, a class, parents, significant others, savants, etc.]

Hope everyone has a lovely Saturday.

Cheers,
    Ted :wave:

2. KEK

KEK Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Ted welcome from another midwesterner (chicago area)

I can't say as i'm very proficient at the moment but i started reading books and have learned alot from this site. At some point i'd like to take some class instruction.

A member of this site J. Brunner has some you tube videos on developing film and other things that might help also.

Kevin

3. Vincent Brady

Vincent Brady Subscriber

Shooter:
    35mm
    Ted
    From my own experiences most people I've met are self taught with a little help along the way. But with the www you can be in touch with someone everyday. Welcome to APUG.

Cheers
    TEX

4. papagene

papagene Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format