Hasselblad 500CM strap issues

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by gregmacc, Jan 27, 2010.

1. gregmacc

gregmacc Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi all ... Starting to come to grips with the solid hunk of cuboid metal that is the 500CM ... Having a lot of fun with my new adventure into MF, but I'm getting a sore neck from all that weight and the narrow (but beautiful) Hasselblad leather strap combo. I'm totally new to WLFs and find that the strap adjusted to exactly the correct length helps greatly with stability. It also frees the left hand to make lens adjustments rather than having to help support the weight of the 'blad.
    I have a nice wide neoprene strap but I would need to butcher the Hasselblad clips from the leather strap and obviously won't be doing that. So what have people done to overcome this issue? Can clips be purchased without the rest of the strap? Are third party straps an option?
    Cheers

2. mikebarger

mikebarger Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've bought a beat up strap for couple bucks (shipping was more than the strap) off ebay sometime ago to get the clips.

Mike

3. bdial

bdial Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    The Op/Tech straps work pretty well. The clips aren't as nice as what are on Hasselblad straps, but in practical terms, that doesn't matter much. In general, they are nicely made compared to many 3rd party products.
    I've had bad luck trying to get junk straps from ebay for the clips, but I've never made a really determined effort.

Hasselblad makes (made??) a wide strap too, they are a combination of nylon webbing and leather. They are plentiful on ebay, though not necessarily cheap.

Here's what the Op/Tech looks like;
    http://www.adorama.com/OTSPANY.html

4. gregmacc

gregmacc Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Mikebarger ... Thanks ... I'll give that a try.
    bdial ... Thanks for the info about the wide Hasselblad straps ... I'll go have a look.
    Cheers

5. André E.C.