Hasselblad: 500cm versus 503cw?

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by ultraviolet, Aug 1, 2006.

1. ultraviolet

ultraviolet Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi everyone,

I'm new here, so please let me know if this has already been discussed. I did a forum search without any results.

I'm a recent BFA Photo grad, and I'm looking to move from my old Mamiya 645 Super to a Hassy. I've been scouring the web trying to find a good solid comparison between the 500CM & 503CW that isn't written in marketing fluff speak. :smile: So far, I've only found positive reviews for each (separately) and a couple of threads around the web where people mentioned that the 503CW is better, but did not state a reason.

I've done some reading on the Hasselblad website, but really what I need is an objective run-down on what I'd be getting by spending more money on the 503CW. I'm willing to spend the extra cash, but I'd like to know that it's worth it.

Thanks all. :smile: I'm excited to have found this forum on the recommendation of a KEH employee!

Lane

2. clogz

clogz Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  3. Kevin Caulfield

Kevin Caulfield Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    If you don't need the metering, etc offered by the 503, the 500 c/m is a great camera. You will of course need a separate meter though.

4. msloane

msloane Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    503 will take the motor drive. I also use a different viewfinder to and an A16 back so I can shoot as a 6.x4.4 instead of a 6x6.

mike
    www.michaelsloane.com

5. lgpod1

lgpod1 Member

Shooter:
    Med. Format Pan
    The 503CW not only takes a motor winder, also has TTL flash capiblity

6. TheFlyingCamera

TheFlyingCamera Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    the 503 CW also has the "Gliding Mirror" system, which means that the image on the groundglass is equally bright across the entire viewfinder, even with long telephoto lenses.

7. JLP

JLP Subscriber