Hasselblad Extension Tubes

Discussion in 'Medium Format Cameras and Accessories' started by BmurphyRZ67, Aug 4, 2010.

1. BmurphyRZ67

BmurphyRZ67 Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi all. I'm curious to know which Hasselblad extension tubes have what focus range. I'm interested in doing semi-closeup portraits, from about 1.5-2 feet away with the 80mm, so that the face and a small amount of the shoulders will take up the frame. If anyone has an easy to read table that will give me approximate focusing range and exposure compensation for each of the tubes, that would be spectacular. Also, what's the difference between the regular and "E" type tubes? I appreciate the help, I'm new to the Swede. Thanks!

2. E76

E76 Member

Shooter:
    Instant Films
    You might find Hasselblad's Close Up Photography article useful. It provides several tables listing field width and exposure compensation values. When I did head and shoulder portraits in a style similar to the one you describe, I used a 10mm extension tube with an 80mm lens, which I found to be ideal.

Type E tubes are for use with FE series bodies and lenses which have electrical contacts on the lens and lens mount for communication.

3. Sirius Glass

Sirius Glass Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Always remember:

1) Have the camera cocked.
    2) Remove the lens
    3) Mount the extension tube on the camera.
    4) Mount the lens on the camera.
    5) Take the photograph.
    6) Cock the lens.
    7) Remove the lens.
    8) Remove the extension tube.
    9) Replace the lens.

I have tired the various tables and charts. What I do is guess at a tube length and try it. If that one is not right, I try the next tube. I usually find one tube or a combination of tubes that work.

Steve

4. Marek Warunkiewicz

Marek Warunkiewicz Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2010
  5. Sim2

Sim2 Subscriber

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hi there,