HC110 and Fomapan 100

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by alanrockwood, Nov 13, 2010.

1. alanrockwood

alanrockwood Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    HC110 is not a recommended developer for Fomapan 100. Let us discuss why this might be so.

I have been able to glean the following possible reasons, based on comments I have seen on various web pages as well as some of my own testing.

1) There is a large loss of film speed with this film/developer combination.
    2) Development times are too short when using reasonable dilutions of HC110.
    3) There is an excessively upswept density curve with this film/developer combination.
    4) Contrast tends to be hard to tame, perhaps a reflection of the interaction between items 2 and 3.

What do you think? Are any or all of these reasons true? Are there other issues to consider as well?

2. 2F/2F

2F/2F Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    It being a standard general-purpose developer, I would be surprised if HC-110 is specifically not recommended by a manufacturer for any b/w film. Did you actually read a manufacturer's recommendation to not use it, or is it just not on a development chart?

The differences in results between HC-110 and D-76 are there, but they are not large. Both are extremely versatile general-purpose developers, with the largest practical difference being how they differ in use (i.e. in how the working solutions are prepared). Additionally, if you use a double dilution of HC-110 B (unofficially known by many as dilution H), the differences between the results from this and D-76 straight or 1:1 would be hard to spot at all.f

3. Ian Grant

Ian Grant Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Seems a good summary of why I wouldn't use HC110 with Fomapan 100 or 200.