Heelllloooooo, new to film, new to APUG.

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by SandyPhimester, May 18, 2011.

1. SandyPhimester

SandyPhimester Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    I've been shooting digital (Canon 5D Mark II) for about 2 years now, that's about it. Before that I had a measly 400D and just messed around, pretty boring stuff, just taking abstract photos, friends, family, stuff like that. But eventually I wanted to do more, I liked it, a lot. So I started on digital.

After a while I wanted more, and I want to explore the real in depth light and culture of photography. I wanted to go deeper into the personal journey... just explore. So I decided to get into film. My first few rolls were on a 35mm Canon SLR. I liked it, a lot, but I also wanted to shoot more higher quality portraits, and 35mm film felt too small.

I got a Mamiya RB67 (from one extreme to the other?) and two lenses, the 90mm f/3.8 and the 180mm f/4.5, I love them. But mostly use the 180mm. It really became an addiction.

Now I have a Mamiya 645 Pro TL with a 80mm f/1.9 and a 150mm f/3.5, both are excellent and I love this camera. I shoot both Mamiya cameras equally, as they both offer advantages over the other.

I do my own scanning with an Epson V600. I've been getting better with color scans, but it's still a bit of a struggle. Tempted to start sending my work to pro labs such as RPL in the USA (even though I'm in Canada), but for black and white I feel pretty confident.

Anyways, I prefer portraits and such, this is my life, and my obsession. :wink:

I look forward to contributing to this community.

Regards from Edmonton, Canada! Any places I should head to first, or take part in first on the forums?

Cheers!!!

2. papagene

papagene Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello and welcome to APUG from western Massachusetts USA. You have two great cameras. Enjoy your visits to the land of film.

3. SandyPhimester