Hello APUGers et bonjour from Montreal!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by KWhitmore, Apr 10, 2007.

1. KWhitmore

KWhitmore Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Well well, how to begin? Here we go. My name is Kathy, I live in Montreal Quebec and I'm very happy to have found you all.

I've been hanging about here for a few weeks (waiting for payday) reading and learning (sometimes laughing) about all the great info in the forums. I've been doing this thing called photography for about 7 years now and it seems there's no end in sight. I just love this stuff too much.

About 2 years ago I began taking some workshops at a small local arts school to learn how to print my own black and white photographs. I never really liked the stuff I got back from the labs...thought it was just me. Ha! So then I heard a rumor last year that my school was going to close so I built my own darkroom last spring/summer in my apartment. Funny thing was, the school didn't close last year but actually shut it's doors almost 2 weeks ago instead. I'm alittle sad that my first school darkroom has closed (do you remember where it was that your very first print appeared to you magically in the developer tray?) because of my memories there but I thank gawd now for building my own!
    I have to inject a little note here about all the darkrooms I've seen and read about on APUG....fantastic! So many great set-ups, especially the space challenged ones! One darkroom I saw was painted mauve I think. Brilliant, I loved that.