Hello from New Mexico

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by shicks5319, Jul 30, 2004.

1. shicks5319

shicks5319 Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    I'm Steve Hicks, and I have been hanging around this forum for a few months now, and have yet to introduce myself properly. Several of you folks have been kind enough to address my stupid questions, and I appreciate it very much.

My wife and I have recently moved to the mountains east and north of Albuquerque (I grew up here) after a 27 year stint on the Big Island of Hawaii (she grew up there). Our family business remains in Hawaii in Kona (we are Greenwell Farms - Kona Coffee producers) so life takes us back there 4 to 5 times a year.

I have been involved in way too many endeavors to claim proficiency at anything. I have made a living over the years running a sawmill and hardwood business, managing a large cattle ranch in Hawaii, designing and building studio furniture for the wealthy, and for a period I was the general manager of the water and sewer utilities for several resort communities on the Big Island. I still don't know what I'll do when I grow up.

Discovering the joy of a hand made photograph has been a great experience for me. I started this journey years ago with an old Canon 35mm because I needed pictures of my furniture. Once I started trying to capture other things around me, photography took on a life of its own. I have recently put down my MF system to give LF a try in order to satisfy my lust for bigger negatives.

Finding this forum was a major stroke of luck for me. Thanks to all who contribute to this fine endeavor.

2. photomc

photomc Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Welcome Steve, from a little east of you DFW. As you already have found, this is a great place to be. Lots to see and shoot in your part of the world (my favorite state, after TX of course) - but then haven't been to them all yet.

3. Thomassauerwein

Thomassauerwein Member

Shooter: