Hello from Plymouth, England

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by leetastic, Mar 1, 2011.

1. leetastic

leetastic Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Hello all,

I'm a photography student at the University of Plymouth, and all I use is film, both medium format and 35mm. I have also recently taken part in a project where I've used 5x4 as well, which was a great experience.

I stumbled upon this website while I was doing some research for an essay I have to do, primarily trying to find out about the decline of film photography in comparison to the new and relevant digital age. I was amazed at the incredible amount of information available on this site, not only about using film, but a variety of different darkroom techniques which is something I find very useful. Particularly as I use both Black and White and Colour darkrooms.

2. Christopher Walrath

Christopher Walrath Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Well, allow me to welcome you to our environs.

3. papagene

papagene Membership Council Council

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello and welcome to APUG from western New England.

4. Steve Roberts

Steve Roberts Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    Hi from just over the road in the Babbage Building! (Presumably you're in Scott?)
    Steve

5. Tom Kershaw

Tom Kershaw Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    While commercial and especially industrial demand may have significantly declined; there is still a strong case for photographic film and paper. With particular regard to printing in the darkroom, the process of working with materials directly can form a real connection to what one is doing; not so possible when using a near 100% abstracted workflow of digital camera - computer - inkjet output. However, hybrids of digital and analogue can be very viable in certain situations, more of which can be discussed on www.dpug.org