Hello from Wilmette

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the APUG Community' started by Richard Wasserman, Nov 21, 2004.

1. Richard Wasserman

Richard Wasserman Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hello Everybody,
    I thought it was time for me to come out of hiding and introduce myself. I live in Wilmette, Illinois which is just north of Chicago on Lake Michigan. I am 53 and have been photographing since I was a kid- I made my first darkroom when I was 13 in a closet in the basement. Today I primarily shoot 4x5 with some 6x6 and 35mm for fun. I use a Sinar Norma with assorted lenses from 110mm to 450mm, and FP4 exclusively (in 4x5). I have been photographing the Chicago River for about 4 years and somewhat to my surprise this is turning into a real project. My intent is to shoot the river over its entire length, about 35 miles. It starts in a fairly bucolic setting and then runs through suburbs before getting to the city itself, where it goes through the heart of downtown and then through heavily industrialized areas. I am currently in the process of printing about 75 images in preparation for applying for grants and to submit for publication. It will be interesting to see where all this leads.

Anyway, I just wanted to say hi, and thank you for being here. This is a great resource!

2. roteague

roteague Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Welcome from Hawaii. It sounds like you have a really interesting project that you are working on. I would like to hear more about it, as well as seeing some of the images that result.

3. mikepry

mikepry Subscriber

Shooter:
    8x10 Format
    Welome aboard! We have a few APUG folks right over the state line in the Kenosha area. Check the regional focus group from WI periodically as we will be doing another outing I'm sure before Christmas and would love to have you!

Mike

4. TPPhotog

TPPhotog Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    greeting from accross the pond :smile:

5. g0tr00t

g0tr00t Member

Shooter:
    35mm