Hello, I'm new

Discussion in 'Pinhole Photography' started by Franswa, Apr 23, 2011.

1. Franswa

Franswa Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    To pinhole photography.

I've got a 4x5 pinhole coming my way and I think I'd like to try and make some images on WPPD!

I've searched online and there seems to be lots and lots of information on these things, but I wanted to see if maybe you all had some suggestions for resources.

I am relatively new to film as well, so I don't have a darkroom and don't do my own developing. What type and or brand or film should I use? Is there one that performs better than the other for this type of shooting?

Any other good tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

2. Rick A

Rick A Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I mostly use paper for negatives with my pinhole cameras. Its easier to deal with printing paper than film, you can develope by inspection under safelight, then scan or contact print for positive image.

3. Klainmeister

Klainmeister Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    Depends on how you want to expose the film. Do you prefer slower speeds so your pinhole will be a minimal of 1 sec on a sunny day? Or do you want shorter? I ask, because as I've learned, exposing by hand....literally using my hand as a shutter...is tough with higher speed films.

4. Ric Johnson

Ric Johnson Member

Shooter:
    4x5 Format
    There is not a wrong film, high ASA or low ASA (ISO) will set the exposure time but really that's all. I shoot 100 or 400 ASA all the time. Make sure you use www.f295.org for your research, it is (in my humble opinion) the greatest pinhole (lensless) website.

5. guitstik

guitstik Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    What Rick said. Start off with paper and you don't need a darkroom just a fairly dark bathroom with a safe light and some chemicals in trays. Your exposure times will be a bit longer than for film but it is cheaper and easier than film.

Remember to have fun.

6. Franswa