HELP!.....split development with Glycerin, anybody done it?

Discussion in 'Alternative Processes' started by Jorge, Jul 28, 2004.

1. Jorge

Jorge Inactive

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Ok, here is my problem. I have this negative that the foregorund prints great in a higher contrast and the sky in a lower contrast, so I am thinking of using the glycerin technique as described in the SUllivan/Weese book. But since this is a 12x20 and I have never done it before, I need some pointers.

Is there any risk of uneven development? how about one developer running into the different part? Should I start with the high contrast first, or the low contrast?

Ok, you pt/pd gurus, help me out here....:smile:

2. nze

nze Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi Jorge

I often use glycerin development for my platinum print. In fact I use different product so to keep thing simple I prefer to use a new fresh developper for each print. When I do a series I sometimes use a bath developer for it . But it often happen that in one priting session I print different seies print and then I use glycerin development.

I've rarely done split development but it happen that on some image I get the same problem as you talk about or I want to mask a print and do it chimically by using different concentration of developer (1 glycerin-1 PO vs 3-1) or different developer (1Gl -1 Po vs 1Gl - 1 Citrate Pot.)

so let's answer your questions.
    No you want get any uneven development , for this you need to well brush for the first 30 sec -1minute depending on the temp after you just need to brush every minutes. ( it also depend on the temp of the dev, hot quicker , colder slower)

Using to developper is a little harder but this depend on the image ,if there is a sky line , it will be easy. But if there are trees coming from the dark and going to the sky you should take care of the developper.