Help Using graded paper with multigrade head

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by Fintan, Apr 6, 2008.

1. Fintan

Fintan Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've an ilford multigrade 500 head and am using an rh designs stopclock 500 with it.

I want to use a graded paper, oriental seagull g3 this afternoon and not sure what grade to set my stopclock 500 to. I haven't used any graded paper in a long time...

The multigrade manual gives grade 4 1/2 but I'm unsure if this is best with the stopclock 500.

Anyone any ideas while i'm off to mix chems :confused::confused::confused:

Fintan

2. snallan

snallan Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I have no experience with either the ilford head, or the oriental seagull.

But, I do use a De Vere with their multigrade head. And in a little experiment with Adox Nuance g3 found little difference between exposure at g2, or at g4, this was using a set of exposures to determine the max flash at each grade setting.

The main difference exposing at g4, and you will probably find this worth having, was the paper was slightly more sensitive. The first patch of tone showing earlier (though only by about 1/6th of a stop), and the gradation in the first few steps being gentler than the exposures at g2. After three or four steps the tones were coming closer together.

It would be worth doing this for the oriental seagull with the 500 head, to see if there is a worthwile difference between them.

3. GM Bennett

GM Bennett Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Hi, Fintan -

I have the MG500 Head and the RH Analyser 500. I use a setting between 4 and 4 1/2 with good results for graded paper. As I understand it, the graded paper is sensitive to blue light, which explains the high contrast setting on the controller. Cheers, Graham

4. fschifano

fschifano Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format