How do I do a wash with a dry darkroom?

Discussion in 'B&W: Film, Paper, Chemistry' started by BSAP, Oct 27, 2011.

1. BSAP

BSAP Member

Shooter:
    35mm
    This is my first time posting.

I'm in the process of setting up a darkroom in a closet in my apartment. The closet has no running water, so I'm trying to figure out the best way to go about doing a wash. My first thought was to just put my prints in a tray in the bathtub, but I'm not sure if that would cause the bathtub to stain. I'm renting, so I really can't leave developer stains in my tub.

So, would the chemical residue on the prints leave stains in the tub?

If so, what other way could I wash my prints?

Any feedback is much appreciated.

2. tomalophicon

tomalophicon Member

Shooter:
    Sub 35mm
    I do mine in the tub and have never seen a stain.

3. bsdunek

bsdunek Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    When I had a dry darkroom, I used a plastic washtub full of water to put my prints in. When I was done, I took them to the laundry room for washing. Never saw any stains. Hypo shouldn't stain. Try it and see. You can always use some bathroom cleaner if there is anything.

4. Worker 11811

Worker 11811 Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I don't have running water in the darkroom either.

I fill a 5 gallon full of water for use in the darkroom. Another, empty bucket serves as waste.
    I keep two trays of water on the table. One is to rinse prints in as they come out of the fixer/hypo-clear. The other is a holding bath until I get a batch of prints that can go out to the laundry room to wash under running water.

After I get a batch of prints into the wash, I empty the two trays, using the waste bucket, and refill using the supply bucket.
    This is also a good time to refill or replenish any chemistry on the table that might need it.

That's my system. It works for me. :smile:

5. Rick A

Rick A Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format