How do you focus you enlarger?

Discussion in 'Enlarging' started by Mainecoonmaniac, Oct 21, 2013.

1. Mainecoonmaniac

Mainecoonmaniac Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I've been printing for over 33 years. I learned in college how to print. I was taught to focus with the lens wide open then stop down to the desired f stop. I just recently tried to focus with the lens stopped down. I don't notice a difference. How do you focus. Does it really matter?

2. polyglot

polyglot Member

Shooter:
    Medium Format
    Wide open will give you a better idea that it really is focused, i.e. small errors are more apparent. You can get it right focusing stopped down but it's a little harder, especially with a dim negative.

Focusing wide open is bad if your lens has focus shift but no decent enlarger lens will.

3. Mainecoonmaniac

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    So good lenses..

So all good lenses will hold the same focus throughout different magnifications?

4. Rom

Rom Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I don't know if it's a good idea but i just use a piece of film where i made some scratches with my scissors. Then i focus wide open till i get the scratches focused.

After i just gently put the neg that i want to enlarge.

Seems to work for me. I never enlarge more than 30x40cm

5. miha

miha Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    I focus wide open but then I use no focusing aid.

6. Rafal Lukawiecki

Rafal Lukawiecki Subscriber

Shooter:
    Multi Format