How many people in the world make wet plate photos on a regular basis?

Discussion in 'Alternative Processes' started by periclimenes, Jan 13, 2008.

1. periclimenes

periclimenes Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    Hi All,

I'm a teacher and one of my students asked me how many people in the world make true wet plate photos on a regular basis. I had no idea, so I defer to your wisdom. 100? 1,000? 10,000?

What's your best guess?

Thanks...

2. Sean

Sean Admin Staff Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
  3. periclimenes

periclimenes Member

Shooter:
    Large Format
    I've been trying (unsucessfully) to join that forum. I sent the moderator an e-mail as per the instructions, but I have not heard anything back.

Thanks for the reply.

4. rwyoung

rwyoung Member

Shooter:
    Multi Format
    Quinn is a busy man. :smile: Give him a little time. If it has been a week, ping him again. He'll get it done.

And enjoy the forum when you get in!

5. smieglitz

smieglitz Subscriber

Shooter:
    Large Format
    My guess would be less than 1000 worldwide making plates on a regular (or seasonal) basis. I think a lot of the members of both collodion forums haven't picked it up yet. Mosts of the posts are made by the same core group so there are a lot of lurkers who don't practice the process yet. Maybe 30-40 folks show up at John Coffer's annual Tintype Jamboree. He's holding 6 or so workshops/year with 4 in each workshop. Then there's the Ostermans, Will Dunniway, Eric Taubman, Kerik, Michael Mazzeo, Quinn Jacobson and few others holding workshops on a less regular basis. So, the ranks aren't growing too fast though there has been an acceleration lately.

In Michigan, I know of myself and 5 others who currently make plates, and 2 retired from it. I'd bet there are more, but I don't know how many or where they are in the state.

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 13, 2008
  6. eddie gunks

eddie gunks Member

Shooter:
    Large Format